Welcome to the United Nations


On 31 August, MINURSO marked the Independence Day of Malaysia raising the national flag at the Mission HQ in Laayoune and at the Team Sites in Mahbas and Oum Dreyga, where nine Malaysians military observes serve.

Since 1960 Malaysia has contributed with over 29,000 peacekeepers from the Malaysian Armed Force and the Royal Malaysian Police. In 1996 it also established the Malaysian Peacekeeping Centre in support of the deployment of future UN peacekeepers.

Currently, over 800 Malaysians blue helmets are deployed to seven UN-led peace operations, including six men and three women serving in MINURSO.

On 31 August, Malaysia celebrates ‘Hari Kemerdekaan’ to commemorate its independence of 1957. The official activities are taking place in the capital Kula Lumpur, as well across the peninsula and throughout its 878 islands. The national flag of Malaysia, also known as the ‘Jalur Gemilang’ (Stripes of Glory), is composed of a field of 14 strips representing the federal territory and the 13 member states.


Terima kasih, Malaysia!